A Little About a Lot of Things

Hotel room sewing-yes, it’s possible!

Posted on: August 31, 2009

It isn’t easy, but it is possible!   Our bed is very high, so I have storage under it.  I picked up two plastic boxes and can store a lot in them.  The thrift store stash is in the suitcase I brought and the machine goes behind the sofa when I’m done.  The ironing board and iron have a holder in the armorie.  So it isn’t that bad-I just have to clean up everything each night.   The hardest part is cutting anything out.  Our only table is about 2 1/2-feet round.  So even a folded piece of fabric barely fits, much less easy to cut.  I tried laying everything  out on the floor, but I am entirely too old to crawl around like I used to.  So I’ve been making small things that don’t require a lot of space to cut or things I can cut in sections.

From the thrift store curtain, I made a pair of shopping bags.  They really hold a lot.  Plus, the groceries look pretty in them.  When I walked into the hotel lobby after shopping, Yamilette at the front desk had to come around and check them out.  She wants a pair of them now, so I’ll have to see what I find at the thrift store next time I get a chance to go.

002

You can see the pocket on the open bag and the other one all folded up and tucked in the pocket.  They fit well into my purse, and will fit great in the console of my truck when I get back home.

Another thing I made was a wallet, that matches my backpack/purse.  I made a few changes to it, but not too many. I flipped it so that the tab is on the top, changed the upper pocket so the opening is at the top and put a clear plastic pocket for my drivers license and insurance card.  It is on crooked, and the pocket edge is far from straight, but I didn’t notice it until the pocket was sewn in place, and didn’t want to take it all apart.  The snap pliers I have marred the outer layer of the fabric and you can see the ring from the outside.  If I had been paying attention, I would have applied the snap before sewing the flap.  But no, I wasn’t, so it looks a little ugly.  Not my best work, to be sure, but it is functional.  And it’s fun to take it out at the store and have people ask about it.  One cashier wanted to know if she could take and look at all the pockets.  So I emptied all my stuff out of it and handed it to her.  She was impressed.  Not so much when I held up her register to put everything back in it.  Did she really think I would hand my wallet and all its contents over to a complete stranger-even a very nice one?  I think not!!!008

009

I’ve got a couple of triangle side zipper bags cut out, I hope to get them sewn this week.  Then I have a box of stuff that Renee’ sent from home for me.  YAY!  I’ve got a few pieces of fabric, some hats and doo rags that were cut before I left.  My favorite snips were in the box, tailor’s chalk, magnetic pin holder and my quilting ruler.  So I have my favorite tools here now, I hope I can get some real sewing done soon.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

