A Little About a Lot of Things

Sewing Again

Posted on: August 22, 2009

Yay!  Now that I have a machine, and stuff to sew, I finally got something done.  I made the long wallet from Corrine.  The pattern is available in her Etsy store, Simple Things.  I used the same fabric as the lining of my skulls and roses backpack.  It was so easy, took me less than an hour to sew.  Cutting took a little longer, as I don’t have all my toys here and had to make do with a 12-inch ruler and a pencil. I really missed my quilt ruler and rotary cutter!  But all in all, really easy.  Corrine’s patterns as so well illustrated and explained very clearly.  You could almost make it just by looking at the photographs!  This is the third pattern I’ve purchased from her and will probably buy more.  No affiliation, yada yada, just a very happy customer!

wallet1

wallet2

wallet3

The last picture isn’t very good, but you can see the zipper pocket for change, the pocket behind it, the upper pocket and the cards.  Behind the cards is another long pocket, for a total of three.  I think I may see if my checkbook will fit in the upper pocket, that would be one less thing to dig out of the bottom of my purse.  Don’t pay attention to the poor layout of the fabric, I wasn’t thinking when I cut it out.  All I wanted was to sew something!  I don’t have snaps here, but the velcro dots do the trick, as long as I don’t put too much in it.  (I found them at the dollar store, they’re not Velcro brand and not as strong.)

I was pretty impressed with the way my machine handled the multiple layers of fabric.  I wasn’t sure how it would perform, but as long as I went slow, it was fine.  I used the needles that came with it (size 10 I think), but did get some larger for the next one I do.  The tension is a bit fussy, but I was expecting that based on the reviews I read about this machine.  I had to turn the dial down to 1 in order to get a good stitch, but it works.  And the reverse is awkward compared to my New Home, but again, it works.  It is a little louder than I thought it would be too.  Overall, I’m pretty happy with it, especially for the price.  Maybe if I hadn’t sewn as long as I have and had several other machines I wouldn’t be as picky.

It”s going to rain all day today so G is off work.  We’re gonna go run some errands and maybe head to Auburn, MA (I think about an hour from here)  because his company has a bridge there to repair and paint. ( He’s told them he’d go, but wouldn’t run that job.  He wants to go back to the south, where he can actually get home every couple of weeks or I can go see him.)  Maybe I can convince him to stop at a fabric store if we find one…

Tags:

Leave a Reply

