A Little About a Lot of Things

Mama’s got a brand new bag!

Posted on: May 12, 2009

This morning I finished my newest bag, the City Backpack from Heart of Mary.  (You may remember that I bought a wallet pattern a couple of days ago from Corrine’s Etsy shop and really liked it.)  I am so pleased with the way it turned out!!!!  The tut was so easy to follow, it actually took me longer to cut the pieces than to sew it up.  (I found that I like pattern pieces, rather than just cut the fabric to size, so making the pattern took a while.)

City Backpack1

004

003

Don’t mind the mess on the table-I was too excited to clean up before taking pics!

001

It went together easily, even though I used a fairly heavy interfacing.  I didn’t have sliders to adjust the straps, so I used a set of buckles off a little backpack that was a giveaway at a baseball game a few seasons ago.  Ran out of fabric, so I used a cotton drawstring with cord lock instead of a fabric one that came from some old sweats.  The fabric was some I picked up a while ago, so basically, I had everything I needed, and reused a few things as well.

The tut was so easy to follow, and I made it exactly as instructed-no changes at all.  The next one I think I am going to shorten the carry strap at the top a little bit, add an inside pocket and a key leash.  The size is perfect for me, not huge, but just right.  Mine measures 9 3/4 inches side to side, 6 inches front to back and 11 inches high. You can put a LOT of stuff in it.  I love it!

Tags: ,

2 Responses to "Mama’s got a brand new bag!"

Thank you for testing the tutorial. Personally, I don’t think this one is an easy bag to sew…so that is really amazing! Why not try the Messenger Bag next? That’s my favorite.

Happy sewing!

could you please email me this site. my husband found and there was no way to forward it to me.
thanks
connie

Leave a Reply

