A Little About a Lot of Things

Today I’ve been sewing!

Posted on: May 9, 2009

I have been enjoying a day of sewing fun things.  Nothing really complicated, just some things I’ve seen and wanted to try.  Last night I came across Corrine’s blog, Heart of Mary and loved her wallet.  So I went to her Etsy store and ordered the pattern.  It came in a few hours, and I made it this morning.  Isn’t it too cute?  It’s just the right size for a small purse.

002

011Don’t you love how the zipper pocket lining looks like piping around the opening?  I didn’t plan it, but I like it a lot!

006It’s hard to see, but at the top edge of the bills pocket, there is a small amount of the inside lining that looks like binding.  If I had used a different fabric, you could see it better.

004

I used red corduroy for the outside and some cotton from stash for the rest.  The pattern only uses two fat quarters, but I wanted to use up some of the accumulation of fabric bits and pieces I have around.   This is the first one, just to see how it made up.  When I make the next one, I think I’ll move the zipper pocket to the top (nearer the tab) though.  It holds all the essentials, is easy to make (great pictures and instructions) and uses up those bits and pieces we all end up with after a project.

Since I am in the mood the sew fun little things, I used more of the inside fabric to make this cute little boxy pouch.

009

It’s a little softer than I really like, but isnt it cute?  I found the tutorial at the Three Bears blog.  I didn’t measure the fabric rectangle I used, so mine has different dimensions.  Still, easy to do and quick!  The only thing I did different (other than the size) is to sew up the sides and around the base to make it stand up a little bit.  I don’t know what I’m gonna use it for, but I’m sure I’ll think of something!

So today has been a fun day.  I think I may cut another wallet out and make it up, just because they’re fun.  But maybe I’ll just surf the web for more ideas instead!

Tags: ,

1 Response to "Today I’ve been sewing!"

Thank you for trying out the eBook! I’m glad you found the instructions easy to follow.

Great job on your wallet! Thank you, too, for featuring it here on your blog.

Leave a Reply

