A Little About a Lot of Things

It’s all Rae’s fault!

Posted on: March 19, 2009

So it’s been over a week since I’ve posted and I have been busy!  Rae got me started on the Buttercup Bag kick, and I have made several.  Some have been for gifts, so no pics.  Then I got to rummaging through my stash and made a few other bags as well, from other sites.  My camera battery is charging, so I will post pics later on tonight.

Last Friday I went down to see G and trailered his favorite bike to him.  Now, it’s not a really long trip, straight interstate, but I have never pulled a trailer before.  (Well, once through the neighborhood, going about 10 mph.)  And  he wants me to take his most prized possession in the world 300 miles to him!  So after trying to figure a way out of it, I realized he must think I can do it or he would come home and get it himself.  It was a long, long trip.  I think I stopped at every rest area and checked to see if everything was alright and unclench my hands from their death grip on the steering wheel!  But I made it, though a lot of people on I-95 southbound probably didn’t like being behind me-I averaged 63 mph and it’s 70 most of the way.

Coming home Monday was a lot easier since the trailer was empty and I actually wasn’t as scared as on the way down.  I called a friend to back the trailer in the driveway, there was no way I could have done it.  D is going to teach me how though, we’re planning to go to a big empty parking lot with some cones and I’m gonna learn.  It’s a good thing D has a LOT of patience!

Now I realize a lot of people pull trailers with stuff in them and it’s not a big deal.  But what you have to understand is that I am afraid of things I don’t know, until I do them.  Sometimes even after, but I usually make myself put on my big girl panties and suck it up.  I’m not really anxious to do it again, but I know I can and I will at some point have to bring the bike back home.  It won’t be that bad, right?

springer

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

